Player of the Year

Dustin Johnson was chosen for the player of the year for 2016 this week on Monday. Johnson had a fantastic year on the PGA Tour with many top ten finishes. He finally notched his first major win at the 2016 U.S. Open at Oakmont Country Club in Pennsylvania. He has had many many close encounters in majors and was able to hold on this time. As many golf fans know there has been a few controversies with Dustin Johnson and his major championships. The first dating back to the 2010 PGA Championship at Whistling Straits Golf Club. Dustin Johnson unintentionally grounded his club in a bunker on the 18th hole. He was never aware it was a bunker. This all happened while he was in a three hole aggregate playoff with Martin Kaymer and Bubba Watson. He was then told after the playoff which diminished his chances of winning the tournament. During the 2015 U.S. Open at Chamber Bay Johnson had a chance to win needing only to make a four foot eagle putt to win. He ended up missing the eagle putt leaving himself about the same length coming back for birdie. His birdie putt wasn’t any better that slid by giving the championship to Jordan Spieth.

And finally this year he was able to put everything together, but once again a little help from the rules staff to put his lead in jeopardy. On the final round on the fifth green, Johnson backed off his ball after he saw his ball move backwards. He called over an official to take a look at it, Johnson knew he didn’t cause the ball to move explaining the situation to the official. The official went on and finally approached him on the twelve tee box saying they looked at the video, but still weren’t sure if they would give him the one stroke penalty and would determine it after his round. This was really frustrating not just for Johnson but other players on the course as they didn’t really knew where they stood. Players on twitter started complaining, saying how disgraceful this was to put DJ through this situation. Many players said they should have just looked at video right there and then and made the call. In fact they did look at the video when it happened, but still weren’t sure if they would charge him with the stroke. Rory stated that he would held his position on the golf course until they made their decision, it was unfair to everyone. After his round Johnson held a four shot lead, which left him safe whichever way the ruling may go. Unfortunately they did charge DJ with the one shot penalty which brought his lead to only three shots, but still earned him the victory. This was great for DJ, he was able to finally break through propelling him to two more victories before the season ended and finishing second in the FedEx Cup.

Advertisements