Popular Putting Surfaces

As a golfer in California, I have mostly played on Poa annua greens mixed with Bentgrass and Rye grass. As the years have gone by I’ve come to the conclusion that I’d rather play on Bentgrass greens because they are always smooth. For years I was always against Bentgrass greens because I felt like I could never spin the ball to help it get closer to the pin. But to be able to make every putt without having it hit a bump is something I would take now. They tend to roll the best unlike bumpy Poa annua. Poa annua tends to get bumpy because it continues to grow as the day goes on. But green surfaces aren’t 100% Poa annua as I said before they are mixed with Bentgrass and Rye grass. But I’ve also visited golf courses where Bentgrass is the preferred putting grass surface but Poa annua still tends to grow because it’s a weed. Poa is a light shaded green color and tends to die off in hot conditions. But on golf courses water is essential so it thrives off of the water when the putting surfaces are watered daily, so it grows easily.

From what I’ve learned over the years talking to professional golfers they prefer to not play on Poa annua greens due to the fact that they become bumpy, making it harder to roll putts in. I’ve learned that there are very few golf courses on the East Coast that hone Poa annua mixed with Bentgrass greens. Poa tends to grow better in cooler temperatures and places like Florida aren’t always cool. Florida golf courses are home to putting surfaces which include Bermuda and Zoysia. That type of grass grows best in hot humid climates. Although Bermuda grasses can be found in Southern California golf courses and a few in Northern California as it tends to be spotty. I’ve never putted on Bermuda greens from what I recall, but I’ve played out of Bermuda rough and its quite tricky. Bermuda grass sits fluffy and sucks the ball to the bottom of the surface or makes it sit on top.

