Favorite Golf Courses

IMG_5332

I’ve played a few different high end golf courses around the Northern California area. My first would include San Francisco Golf Club a very exclusive golf course in the Daly City area. SF Golf Club was designed by A.W. Tillinghast in the early days and opened in 1915. SF Golf Club is very unique, I’ve never played a golf course like it before, It didn’t have any water hazards. I usually read up on golf course before I go to them, so I know what to expect. Going in I knew it didn’t have any hazards and was excited to see how they tricked up the golf course not having that addition. The bunkers were the hazards, you didn’t want to go in those, they were deep. The golf club is a men’s only club, allowing women to only play on Sunday’s and from what I remember they are not allowed in the clubhouse.

Spyglass Hill Golf Course is my second favorite course designed by Robert Trent Jones. Playing that course in a tournament condition is the only experience I’ve had and assume it’s the best time to play, because it’s going to be in the best shape all year. Spyglass is a golf course the public can play anytime just recently as they’ve nixed the membership program, but it comes with a hefty price tag. But it’s worth it maybe to do once every year, as the views are spectacular. Spyglass’ golf course design is far from different from SF Golf Club as there are plenty of hazards for the ball to find, from water hazards to sand dunes. The sand dunes add a unique visual experience because it was the natural setting of the Monterey area before the course was built.

